Western Regional Hospital Foundation

The Western Regional Hospital Foundation was established as a registered charity in October 1987 to receive, maintain and distribute funds raised by annual campaigns, personal donations, grants, and special event fundraising. The mission of the Western Regional Hospital Foundation is to heighten public awareness of the needs of the Western Region and to act as a liaison between the donors and Western Health.

The objective of the Western Regional Hospital Foundation is to support the health and well being of all the people in our region, by providing funding assistance to purchase, replace and modernize medical equipment for the Western Region.

The Western Regional Hospital Foundation is committed to ensuring that all residents of the Western Region have access to the latest medical technology. Since the incorporation of the Regional Foundation in October 1987 over 20 million dollars have been raised to support the regional facilities.

Through the Foundation, individuals, businesses, schools, service clubs and community organizations help to improve the quality of our healthcare services. Your donations, bequests, planned giving and special event proceeds are applied to priority items for the Western Region or can be directed to specific equipment or departments.

The Regional Foundation welcomes all contributions; we welcome and graciously accept your gifts as offerings that make an unbelievable contribution to the healthcare of our region. Every gift of support, big or small, makes considerable improvements to the health and welfare of our friends and families in the Western Region. Your action and participation is what is so essential. The Foundation graciously accepts any and all donations and issues official income tax receipts for contributions over $10.00.

The Western Regional Hospital Foundation has its own separate entity with the Board of Directors elected from the community.

Board of Directors

Jamie Fowlow - Chair
Michelle Melendy - Vice Chair
David Hounsell - Treasurer
Keith Allen - Secretary 
Dr. Krista Fudge - Executive Member
James Wiseman - Ex-Officio
Dean Porter
Dr. Gavin White
Dr. Tony Tavenor
Elmo Bingle
Gladys Hann
Wanda Mitchell
Paulette Coleman
Dr. Amy Pieroway
Jackie Chow
Jennifer Veitch
Fayth Andrews

Honor Roll
Frances Vardy
Seumas Gibbons
Keith Fillatre
Derek Young
Dennis Waterman
Dr. Joe Wijay
Late Dr. Noel Murphy

Foundation Staff
Executive Director - Suzanne Carey
Executive Assistant - Debbie Benoit
Executive Officer - Rosie Hunt